Pulitzer Prize - Oscar of Journalism

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition.

Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories.

It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American newspaper publisher(Hungarian-born) Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City.

Also known as Oscar prize of journalism.

Presented by: Columbia University

First awarded: 1917

Gobind Behari Lal (1937) is the first Indian to win the Pulitzer Prize.

Jumpha Lahiri is the first Indian woman winner of Pulitzer Prize (2000).

Share :
« Prev
Next »

Obtaining such an award is probably the dream of all journalists because it is a recognition of your talent and the fact that your work was really able to somehow influence the change in the world.

GK Cards

Back To Top