List of 6 Classical Languages in India

Classical Languages List:

  1. Tamil (since 2004)
  2. Sanskrit (since 2005)
  3. Telugu (since 2008)
  4. Kannada (Since 2008)
  5. Malayalam (since 2013)
  6. Odiya (since 2014)
Tamil was the first to get Classical Language status in India.

ശ്രേഷ്ഠഭാഷാ പദവി ലഭിക്കുന്ന രാജ്യത്തെ അഞ്ചാമത്തെ ഭാഷയാണ് മലയാളം.

Criteria for Declaring Classical Language 

(i)   High antiquity of its early texts/recorded history over a period of 1500-2000 years;
(ii) A body of ancient literature/texts, which is considered a valuable heritage by generations of speakers;
(iii) The literary tradition be original and not borrowed from another speech community;
(iv) The classical language and literature being distinct from modern, there may also be a discontinuity between the classical language and its later forms or its offshoots.


As per Government of India's Resolution No. 2-16/2004-US(Akademies) dated 1 November 2004, the benefits that will accrue to a language declared as "Classical Language" are

Two major international awards for scholars of eminence in Classical Indian Languages are awarded annually.
A 'Centre of Excellence for Studies in Classical Languages' is set up.
The University Grants Commission be requested to create, to start with at least in the Central Universities, a certain number of Professional Chairs for Classical Languages for scholars of eminence in Classical Indian Languages
Share :
« Prev
Next »

GK Cards

Back To Top