Wayanad - District - Important PSC Questions

  • Wayanad District - Formed: 1 November 1980
  • Headquarters: Kalpetta
  • Wayanad is the only district in Kerala that shares boundary with two states- Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.
  • The district has no coastal areas and railway lines.
  • It is the least populated district in Kerala.
  • District with lowest number of villages.
  • Wayanad districts is the district with lowest number of Taluks in kerala.
  • Wayanad district has lowest literacy rate in Kerala.
  • Kerala district with Highest percentage of forest area is Wayanad district.
  • Wayanad district has the largest number of tribal population in Kerala.
  • Kabani, also called Kapila, originates in the Wayanad District.
  • Kabini is the largest of east flowing rivers in Kerala.
  • Kuruva Island is in Kabini river.
  • Banasura sagar dam constructed in Kabini river in Wayanad is the largest earth dam in India.
  • India's largest floating solar power plant and it's set up on the Banasura Sagar reservoir in Wayanad in 2017.
  • Meenmutty Falls and Soochipara Waterfalls are in Wayanad.
  • Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary established in 1973.
  • Pakshipathalam Bird Sanctuary lies in the Brahmagiri hills in Wayanad.
  • Edakkal caves lies on Ambukuthy Mala in Wayanad.  The caves were discovered by Fred Fawcett, a police official of the erstwhile Malabar state in 1890.
  • 'A heart shaped lake' in Meppady is a major tourist attractive place.
  • Lakkidi is known as the gateway of Wayanad district.
  • Lakkidi is also called Chirapunjee of Kerala.
  • Pookode Lake is the northern most fresh water lake in Kerala.
  • Thamarassery mountain pass connects Wayanad and Kozhikode.
  • Periya  pass connects Mananthavadi with Mysore.
  • Chembra Peak, the highest peak in Wayanad.
  • Wayanad district is in the southern tip of the Deccan Plateau.
  • Wayanad leads in the production of pepper, ginger and coffee in Kerala.
  • Coffee Research Station in Kerala located at Chundale village in Wayanad district.
  • Sultan Bathery Jain Temple believed to have been built in the 13th century.
  • Thirunelli Temple is an ancient temple dedicated to Lord Maha Vishnu on the side of Brahmagiri hill. Also known as Dakshina Kasi.
  • Sultan Bathery was previously known as Ganapathy Vattom because of the presence of the Ganapathy temple. 
  • Wayanad Heritage Museum is located in Ambalavayal.
  • Phantom Rock at Amabalavayal is a tourist attractive place.
  • Tomb of Pazhassi Raja is at Mananthavady.(Pazhassi kudeeram)
  • Thalakkal Chandu Memorial - Panamaram
  • Seetha Lava Kusha temple is a famous Hindu temple located at pulpally in Wayanad. 
  • Glass temple of Koottamunda situated in Kalpetta is a famous Jain temple.
  • South India's first high altitude cricket stadium located at Krishnagiri.
  • The first Grama Panchayat which completed Aadhar Registration  in Kerala-Ambalavayal
  • Ginger Research Centre in kerala situated at - Ambalavayal
  • Raman Nambi was the leader of Kurichiya Revolt of 1812.
  • Muthanga agitation was in 2003.
Watch Video for More GK Questions

Pazhassi Kudeeram

Edakkal Caves

Share :
« Prev
Next »

plz upload notes abt other districts

GK Cards

Back To Top