Paralympics 2016: India Medal Winners List

2016 Rio Paralympics Current Affairs : India 

There was 19 competitors in 5 sports from India in the 2016  Rio Summer Paralympics

Venue: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Period: 7 to 18 September 2016
Mascot: Tom

India won 4 Medals in the athletics events.

1. Mariyappan Thangavelu won Gold medal in Men's High Jump T-42
Won the first gold for India in the 2016 Summer Paralympic games at Rio de Janeiro.

2. Devendra Jhajharia won Gold medal in Men's Javelin throw F-46
 He is the first Indian Paralympian to win two gold medals at the Paralympics, he won his first gold in the javelin throw at the 2004 Summer Paralympics in Athens, becoming only the second gold medalist at the Paralympics for his country.At the 2016 Summer Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro, he won a second gold medal in the same event, bettering his previous record

3. Deepa Malik won Silver Medal in Women's shot put F-53
She is the first Indian woman to win a medal in Paralympic Games.

4. Varun Singh Bhati  won Bronze Medal in Men's High Jump F-42

Share :
« Prev
Next »

GK Cards

Back To Top