Role of Press in Renaissance in Kerala - PSC SPECIAL NOTES

Owner: Vakkom Moulavi
Founded : 1905
Swadeshabhimani was a newspaper published in Travancore, which was banned and confiscated by the Government of Travancore in 1910 due to its criticisms against the government and the Diwan of Travancore, P.Rajagopalachari. 
First editor was C.P Govindapillai. Swadeshabhimani K. Ramakrishna Pillai (1878–1916) was a writer, journalist, Newspaper editor, and political activist in the erstwhile princely state of Travancore (Kerala, India). He became the editor of the
newspaper in 1906 and  hence known by the name Swadeshabhimani .

Founded: 1904
Founder: Kumaranasan
It was a Malayalam literary journal established in 1904 to serve as a voice of the underprivileged communities in the Indian state of Kerala . It was founded by Kumaranasan, a poet, social reformer, disciple of Narayana Guru and founder-secretary of the associated SNDP Yogam, who was inspired by the teachings of Swami Vivekananda. Editorials written by Asan in Vivekodayam attracted widespread attention, and covered current affairs, criticism of the Government, and championed the cause of education and employment opportunities for the Ezhavas. It was popularly referred to as the Ezhava Gazette


Founded: 1906
The 'Mithavadi' magazine which turned out to be a change agent of the social conditions in the Malabar region was launched in 1906. Mithavaadi was an important journal from Ezhava community. It was published from Calicut. Moorkoth kumaran was the first editor. Kumaranasan's  'Veena Poovu' was first published in the Mitavadi. In 1913, C.K.Krishnan acquired ownership of the paper and started publishing it as a magazine from Kozhikode. It was published from 1913 to 1938.

Malayala Manorama
Founder: Kandathil Varghese Mappila
Founded: 1888
 It was started as a weekly newspaper became a daily on 2 July 1928.


Founder: Kandathil Varugheese Mappillai.
Founded: 1892
It is one of the oldest Malayalam literary review magazines.

Founder: K. P. Kesava Menon
Founded: 1923

Mathrubhumi newspaper was started as part of the nationalist movement and Indian independence movement on 18 March 1923, under the editorship of K. P. Kesava Menon

Kerala Kaumudi

Started: 1911
Founder: C.V Kunhiraman
First editor: K. Sukumaran

Started: 1918
Samadarshi started publication from Trivandrum in 1918.

Started: 1891
Owner:  Kesavan Asan
The newspaper was started from Paravoor in Kollam. Paravoor Kesavan Asan was the owner and editor of the newspaper. 

Started: 1867
Sandishtavadi is the first newspaper banned in Kerala. Started by W.H Moor.

Started: 1930
Founder: Kesari Balakrishna Pillai,

Founder: Muhammed Abdul Rahman 
Founded: 1920
Abdul Rahman Sahib was the Editor of Malayalam daily Al-Ameen, published from Calicut during 1929-1939. The paper had to close down in 1939 due to the measures of British Raj.

Founder: 1935
Founder: EMS Namboothiripad
Started publication from Shoranur with E.M.S. Namboodiripad as its editor, and was the organ of the newly-formed Congress Socialist Party. Its license was suspended following refusal to furnish security to government consequent on the publication of a poem on Bhagat Singh's martyrdom. The license was restored later. The paper was shifted to Kozhikode in 1938, but did not survive for long.

Founded: 1929
Yukthivadi started its publication in August 1929 from Ernakulam under the editorial board of M. Ramavarma Thampan, C. Krishnan, C. V. Kunhiraman, Sahodaran Ayyappan and M.C. Joseph.
Share :
« Prev
Next »

GK Cards

Back To Top